The Altar of Tyrol Castle
a Research Project

The altar of Tyrol Castle is a treasure in many respects: it is a masterpiece of Gothic art as well as a document of the Tyrolean history, and it became an item of the Ferdinandeum inventory at an early stage. The oldest, largely intact winged altarpiece of the Alpine region originates from the upper chapel of Tyrol Castle near Merano.  Its so-called “Sunday side” shows scenes taken from the life of Mary. The coats of arms and the noble founders – the Habsburg Dukes Leopold III and Albrecht III – depicted at the outside of the wings, indicate that the altar was created in connection with a specific political event: the inclusion of the Tyrol into the House of Habsburg.

In 1948 Vinzenz Oberhammer, the then curator of the museum, published the only extensive monograph of this precious artwork so far. The following 70 years were also a period of intensive research on the altarpiece. Consequently, we know today a lot about its liturgical and political functions, the iconographic program and the eventful history of its provenance. However, is the shrine actually made of beech wood? Do preliminary drawings hide under the surface? What kinds of interventions have been made on this high-class artwork since its creation, and how should its current state be assessed? In April 2016, the Tyrolean State Museums launched a research project with the objective of receiving new answers by means of a broad variety of methods for investigation, as well as of encouraging internal and external experts to share their knowledge.  Another aim is to develop a forward-looking concept for the preservation and restoration of this exquisite work of art.

During the term of the project by 2020, the altar of Tyrol Castle will be exhibited in a specially designed room within the permanent exhibition of the Ferdinandeum. Its presentation in the context of this open, interdisciplinary process is intended to demonstrate that museums are also lively places of research. The results will leave their marks in the exhibition space, but will also be the basis for a comprehensive publication. Following the concept of a participatory opening-up of museums, this blog will report regularly about the progress of the project and thus exceed the physical location of the museum.

Project Management:
PD Dr. Wolfgang Meighörner
w.meighoerner@tiroler-landesmuseen.at
T +43 512 594 89-100

Mag. Claudia Mark
c.mark@tiroler-landesmuseen.at
T +43 512 594 89-115

Art-Technological Research:
Dipl. Rest. Laura Resenberg
l.resenberg@tiroler-landesmuseen.at
T +43 512 594 89-136

Altar von Schloss Tirol
ein Forschungsprojekt

Der Altar von Schloss Tirol ist in mehrerlei Hinsicht ein Juwel: als Meisterwerk gotischer Kunst, als Dokument der Tiroler Landesgeschichte und als frühes Sammlungsinventar des Ferdinandeum. Der älteste, weitgehend vollständig erhaltene Flügelaltar des Alpenraums stammt aus der Oberkapelle von Schloss Tirol bei Meran. Er zeigt auf der sogenannten „Sonntagsseite“ Szenen des Marienlebens. An den Flügelaußenseiten dargestellte Wappen und Stifterfiguren – die habsburgischen Herzöge Leopold III. und Albrecht III. – weisen auf seine Entstehung im Zusammenhang mit einem konkreten politischen Ereignis hin: der Anbindung Tirols an das Haus Habsburg.

1948 publizierte Vinzenz Oberhammer, damaliger Kustos am Tiroler Landesmuseum, die bislang einzige umfassende Monografie zu dieser Preziose. Auch in den darauffolgenden 70 Jahren gab das Retabel Anlass zu reger Forschung. So sind seine liturgische und politische Funktion, das Bildprogramm und die wechselvolle Geschichte seiner Provenienz heute weitgehend bekannt. Doch ist der Schrein tatsächlich aus Buchenholz? Verbergen sich unter der Bildoberfläche Vorzeichnungen? Welche Eingriffe wurden an dem hochkarätigen Bildwerk seit seiner Entstehung in den Jahren 1370/72 vorgenommen und wie ist sein gegenwärtiger Zustand zu beurteilen? Die Tiroler Landesmuseen initiierten im April 2016 ein Forschungsprojekt mit dem Anspruch, ausgehend von modernen kunsttechnologischen Untersuchungsmethoden neue Erkenntnisse zu gewinnen sowie die interne und externe Zusammenarbeit unter ExpertInnen anzuregen. Ziel ist es zudem, ein zukunftsweisendes Konzept für die Konservierung und Restaurierung dieses hochkarätigen Kunstwerks zu entwickeln.

Während der Laufzeit des Projekts bis 2020 wird der Altar von Schloss Tirol in einem eigens gestalteten Raum in der Dauerausstellung des Ferdinandeum zu sehen sein. Seine Präsentation im Kontext des offenen, interdisziplinären Prozesses vermittelt, dass Museen auch Orte der lebendigen Forschung sind. Die Ergebnisse werden sowohl im Ausstellungsraum Spuren hinterlassen, als auch in einer umfassenden Publikation münden. Im Sinne der partizipativen Öffnung der Museen wird dieser Blog laufend über den Fortschritt des Projekts und damit über den physischen Ort des Museums hinaus berichten.

Projektleitung:
PD Dr. Wolfgang Meighörner
w.meighoerner@tiroler-landesmuseen.at
T +43 512 594 89-100

Mag. Claudia Mark
c.mark@tiroler-landesmuseen.at
T +43 512 594 89-115

Kunsttechnologische Untersuchung:
Dipl. Rest. Laura Resenberg
l.resenberg@tiroler-landesmuseen.at
T +43 512 594 89-136